Who we are

The Economic History Society of Southern Africa was formed in July 1980 ‘to promote the study of, and interest in economic and social history of southern Africa’.

Economic History of Developing Regions (formerly the South African Journal of Economic History) is published by Taylor & Francis on behalf of the Society.


Membership benefits includes:

  • Delivery of Economic History of Developing Regions, with three issues published annually by Taylor & Francis and UNISA Press;
  • Special editions of Economic History of Developing Regions;
  • Information on the most important economic history conferences and events in South Africa and abroad;
  • Networks with other economic historians in South Africa and Africa.
  • There is no membership fee. To sign up, please complete the membership form and email it to the Secretary, Kate Ekama.

    Current Executive Board Members:
    Christie Swanepoel (UWC), President
    Carolyn Chisadza (UP), Vice-President
    Kate Ekama (SUN), Secretary
    Calumet Links (SUN), Treasurer

    Ordinary Board Members:
    Leone Walters (UCT)
    Rochelle Beukes (UWC)
    Jonathan Schoots (Lund)
    Johan Fourie (SUN)
    Jeanne Cilliers (Lund)
    Alfonso Herranz (Barcelona, ex officio member as editor of journal)